Connect with us


Which University Courses Does Nsfas Cover?



Which University Courses Does Nsfas Cover?

Would you like to receive financial assistance for your tertiary studies? It may be possible to solve the problem with the National Student Financial Aid Scheme NSFAS. Review their funding approvals and disapprovals for specific courses.

Funding is the most crucial part of ensuring students complete their tertiary studies, as anyone who has done so will tell you. Especially aspiring students from historically disadvantaged backgrounds face this challenge.check NSFAS Application 2023-2024.

Which University Courses Does Nsfas Cover

DHET’s National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) provides funding to this cohort of students under the mandate of the Department of Higher Education and Training (DHET).

Although NSFAS funds certain courses and course levels, there are some limitations. All undergraduate programs at all public higher learning institutions in the country are funded by the bursary scheme, with the exception of a few which may be determined by NSFAS based on the available funding. 

NSFAS does not fund short courses, courses offered by private colleges or private higher education institutions, and part-time studies at universities.

NSFAS does not provide funding for postgraduate courses and a second undergraduate degree.

Additionally, when a NSFAS student changes their course of study, they must notify the National Student Financial Aid Scheme (NSFAS) of their change of academic records, courses of study, or institutions. NSFAS can continue to provide funding by updating their records in their system.

Courses funded by NSFAS at universities

  • Certificate qualifications – registered on NQF Level 5 and have a qualification type of Higher Certificate or National Higher Certificate.
  • Undergraduate qualifications – NQF Level 6 and have a qualification type of Advanced Certificate, Diploma (minimum course credits of 240), Diploma (minimum course credits of 360) or National Diploma, or NQF Level 7 or 8 and have a qualification type of National First Degree, or National First Degree (minimum course credits of 480).
See also  NSFAS Coverage for Goldfields TVET College Courses

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *